You are currently viewing What Makes Nerds Haram or Halal?

What Makes Nerds Haram or Halal?

Sugary foods and snacks are extremely popular. Nerds are essentially little crystals composed of sugar and candy-coated. They satisfy your taste for sugar and your need for crunch. Their tiny size lets you eat a ton of them without feeling like you have actually eaten anything at all.

On top of their sugariness, they come in assorted fruit flavors. While Nerds may be sugary and crunchy, are they permissible?

Your friends at HalalGuide have taken the necessary steps to determine whether or not Nerds are permissible.

Which Nerds are Considered “Haram” (According to Ingredients)

Certain flavors of Nerds are considered Haram due to the use of an insect-derived food coloring called; Carmine. It is not permissible for Muslims to knowingly consume insects.

Don’t worry! You may still be able to enjoy Nerds as a Muslim. That’s because; Not all flavors of Nerds contain Carmine!

The list below shows which flavors of Nerds Muslims should avoid:

  • Strawberry & Grape Nerds
  • Rainbow Nerds Rope
  • Very Berry Nerds Rope
  • All other flavors of nerds are permissible: After checking the ingredients!

Do Nerds Have Gelatin?

Nerds are one of the few candies that Do Not Contain Gelatin. According to Wonka, they will specifically mention where the gelatin comes from, for the candies that do contain gelatin. Below is the current list of ingredients used to make Nerds.

Current Ingredients (November 2018): Dextrose, Sugar, Malic Acid, and less than 2% of Corn Syrup, Artificial Flavors, Carnauba Wax, Color Added, Carmine Color, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6, Yellow 6 Lake.

Communication with Wonka’s Public Relations provided below:

Dear HalalGuide Team Members,

Thank you for contacting Wonka® Nerds® Rope.

Certain flavors of our confections products do contain carmine color, which will be declared in the ingredient statements on the product labels.

The presence of carmine color is dependent on the flavor variety. Please always read the product label for the most up to date information.

Also, if gelatin comes from pork we simply state gelatin. If it comes from a different source such as beef we would state beef gelatin.

We appreciate your interest and hope you will visit our website often for the latest information on our products and promotions.

Sincerely,

Nia Palmer

Consumer Response Representative

Conclusion

Before digging into your favorite flavor of Nerds, be sure to check the ingredients on the package. As a Muslim, you should avoid any Nerds candies with “Carmine” food coloring for the reasons listed above. This is our opinion based on the facts we gathered. You can leave a comment below with your opinions or feedback regarding our conclusion. Allah knows best.