You are currently viewing Are “Fruit Roll-Ups” Haram or Halal? A Response from General Mills

Are “Fruit Roll-Ups” Haram or Halal? A Response from General Mills

Fruit leather is a great snack for children. It’s fruity, chewy, and sweet; all things that children love in their snacks. One of the more popular fruit leathers is Fruit Roll Ups.

Fruit Roll Ups distinguished itself by being an inventive and fun brand. Sometimes the leather had tattoos for your tongue, other times they had fun shapes you could pop out and eat individually. While Fruit Roll Ups are an enjoyable snack, are they permissible?

We at HalalGuide have taken upon ourselves to find out for you. We have researched fruit roll ups and contacted General Mills in order to uncover the truth about the permissibility of Fruit Roll Ups.

Why it is considered “haram”: The acetylated Monoglycerides could be from a non-zabiha meat source.

Current Ingredients (November 2018): Pears from Concentrate, Corn Syrup, Sugar, Partially Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil, Contains 2% or less of: Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Acetylated Monoglycerides, Fruit Pectin, Dextrose, Malic Acid, Vitamin C (ascorbic acid), Natural flavors, Color (red 40, yellows 5 & 6, and blue 1)
Acetylated Monoglycerides confirmed to be from a plant source.

Acetylated Monoglycerides was been confirmed to be vegetable derived.

Permissible Flavors: Fruit Roll-Ups Blastin Berry Hot Colors, Fruit Roll-Ups Boo Berry Razzle Boo Blitz, Fruit Roll-Ups Franken Berry Strawberry Scream, Fruit Roll-Ups Mini Rolls Strawberry Craze, Fruit Roll-Ups Mini Rolls Wild Berry Punch, Fruit Roll-Ups Quiz Rolls, Fruit Roll-Ups Simply Fruit Rolls Wildberry, Fruit Roll-Ups Strawberry, Fruit Roll-Ups Sunkist Variety Pack, Fruit Roll-Ups Tropical Tie-Dye, Fruit Roll-Ups Variety Pack

Communication with General Mills provided below:

Hello HalalGuide Team Members:

Thank you for contacting General Mills with your inquiry.

The acetylated monoglycerides are a vegetable derivative; natural building blocks of plants, synthesized from natural components.

We hope you find this information helpful. Please let us know if we can help you again.

Thank you,
Rhonda Short
Customer Care Specialist
Consumer Services

Conclusion: After examining each ingredient and contacting General Mill’s public relations Halalguide has determined that there is no use of impermissible ingredients.