You are currently viewing Are “Cheez-Its” Haram or Halal? A Response from Kellog’s

Are “Cheez-Its” Haram or Halal? A Response from Kellog’s

When it comes to salty, cheesy snacks there are many products in the market that can provide you with this particular taste. One popular product among this vast selection is Cheez Its. Cheez Its come in many different flavors and each of them can satisfy your craving for a salty, cheesy snack. While Cheez Its can satisfy cravings, are they permissible?

We at HalalGuide.info have taken the proper steps to investigate the permissibility of Cheez Its crackers.

Why it is considered “Haram”: The enzymes in the cheese used could be from pork.

Current Ingredients (April 2019): Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate [Vitamin B1], Riboflavin [Vitamin B2], Folic Acid), Vegetable Oil (Soybean And Palm Oil With Tbhq For Freshness), Cheese Made With Skim Milk (Skim Milk, Whey Protein, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes, Annatto Extract For Color), Contains Two Percent Or Less Of Salt, Paprika, Yeast, Paprika Oleoresin For Color, Soy Lecithin.

Enzymes verified as being from a non-pork source.

Communication with Kellogg provided below:

HalalGuide Team members,

We are so glad you took the time to connect with us. Your interest in Sunshine® Cheez-It® Crackers is appreciated and we are happy to share more information with you.

The enzymes we use in our products are not from an animal source.

For any remaining ingredients not listed above, we are often unable to provide detailed information regarding processing and sourcing since many different suppliers are used. However, if you have a question about a certain ingredient, feel free to contact us further.

Thank you again for reaching out to us. We hope this information answers your question completely. If there is anything else we can help you with, please contact us again by calling 1-877-453-5837. You can also visit us online at Cheezit.com to learn more about our foods and determine which ones would work best for you and your family.

Sincerely,

Nikki F.
Consumer Specialist
Consumer Affairs

Conclusion: After examining each ingredient and contacting Kellogg’s public relations HalalGuide has determined that there is no use of haram ingredients (including Pork). This is our opinion, and you may disagree or agree with our conclusion. God knows best.