You are currently viewing Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal?

Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal?

Haribo Gummy Bears are enjoyed all around the world, and Halal food is becoming more and more popular in Western countries. Halal is an Arabic word meaning “permissible” or “lawful.” So the question on everyone’s mind: are Haribo gummy bears Halal? The answer will surprise you!

What Does Halal Mean?

Halal is an Arabic word that means lawful or permitted. Halal foods are those which Muslims believe to be permissible according to Islamic law, as opposed to haram (unlawful or forbidden).

Halal foods can include meat from animals slaughtered by hand, fish, fruits and vegetables and other foods that are not contaminated by any substance like alcohol or pork.

Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal?

Haribo Gummy Bears Sold In The United States are Not Halal! This is due to the fact they contain gelatin which is made from pig. As mentioned above, Halal foods must be free from any haram substances like alcohol or pork-derived products.

careteam@haribo.com
Wed, Jul 7, 10:08 PM

Dear Halalguide,

Thank you for reaching out to HARIBO and for your question.
Our production facility in Turkey uses only beef-derived gelatin; however, our manufacturing facilities in Germany, the UK, Austria, Spain, Brazil and France use pork-derived gelatin.To determine the gelatin source, please look on the bottom half of the back of the HARIBO of America package for the country of manufacture.

Kindest Regards,

HARIBO of America Consumer Care Team

As you can see in the response from Haribo, only the Gummy Bears produced in Turkey are Halal and use Beef-Derived gelatin. And all other manufacturing facilities use Pork-Derived gelatin.

However, you can still purchase Halal Haribo Gummy Bears, which are produced in muslim countries, such as Turkey, from here. These are certified Halal and have the Halal symbol on the package as seen in this photo:

Halal Alternatives to Haribo Gummy Bears

Halal gummy bears are readily available on Amazon. Halal gelatin is made from beef or vegan sources like seaweed, and halal fruit juice sweeteners so there’s no need to worry about any haram substances!

The response from Haribo about the type of Gelatin used in their Gummy Bears, which are sold in the USA.

Conclusion

Your child is complaining that they can’t have their favorite Haribo gummy bears because you’re Muslim? We hear you.

While Haribo does sell some products here in the US, most are not Halal certified and cannot be eaten by Muslims. But don’t worry! Amazon has a ton of alternatives to choose from so you or your little one’s sweet tooth doesn’t go unsatisfied.

Some Halal approved alternatives include:

– Halal Gummy Bears by Kervan