Halal App for your Android Phone

The discussions occurred after my sister-in-law bought in sweets for my son, namely a pack of Smarties and Skittles. Unfortunately she is clueless about what defines something to be halal or not, and thought it was sufficient that gelatin was not in the ingredient mix!

If your wondering What is Gelatin, here’s the definition from Peta.org

“Gelatin is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. It is usually obtained from cows or pigs. Gelatin is used in shampoos, face masks, and other cosmetics; as a thickener for fruit gelatins and puddings (such as Jell-O); in candies, marshmallows…”

Now as far as my knowledge goes in these matters I must be frank and honest, I usually tend to go with the suitable for vegetarian’ sign and at time get confused in the vast amount of information and resources that are available pertaining to food. Even a close friend is a microbiologist and very clued up on these matters, but regardless it is easy to slip and get confused on the matters.

Beware of Labeling!

I guess a general rule of thumb would be to look out for the “suitable for vegetarian” signs but this little tool maybe able to assist whilst on the move.

The cool things about the app is that in essence it is very simple, you get a list of ingredients from A-Z that can be searchable; Halal is highlighted in Green, Haram in Red and dependable ingredients in a lighter color.

Secondly a list of ‘e’ numbers a given with search function and again with their highlighted colors, that it! Hopefully a simple and effective app.

Scan Halal Android App | Overview

So a new android app has surfaced for our phones called “Scan Halal”. It can be found here on the Google Play Store.

This app is great for checking products on-the-fly while shopping if you’re able to access the internet on your phone. It’s free to install and contains some ads that show up at the bottom of the screen.

Please do let me know in the comments of your experience with these types of apps and how accurate they are.

 

What is Halal? Your Guide to Everything Halal

You may be new to Islam and wondering what is Halal? Islam is a vast religion and has many regulations to adhere to. Learning about what is Halal and what isn’t, is something all Muslims confront on a day-by-day basis, especially in the Western.

What is Halal? | The meaning of the word Halal

The word Halal, is an Arabic word that has more than one meaning. Halal is what is allowed or permissible for Muslims. Halal applies to what food Muslims can eat, clothes they can wear and actions they can perform.

The basic ruling in Islam for what is considered Halal has been revealed in the Quran and the sayings of the Prophet Mohammed (Pbuh). With so many innovations and advances in technology, Muslim scholars have to step-in to determine the ruling for some situations.

The opposite of Halal is “Haram”. Haram typically means the foods, actions and clothes Muslims should avoid.

Here are some common examples for what Halal means:  Permissible or Allowed

  • Halal can apply to what we eat, for example:
    • “Is this food Halal?”
    • “Is it Halal to eat shark?”
  • Halal can also apply to what we wear:
    • “Is wearing silk Halal for men?”
    • “Is it Halal to wear high heels?”
  • Another application of the word Halal can refer to an action:
    • “Is working in a bank Halal?”
    • “Is it Halal to keep a dog?”

What are Halal foods?

There are many types of halal foods Muslims can eat and consume. Generally, foods that are not mentioned as Haram in the Quran or saying of the Prophet Mohammed (Pbuh) are allowed (Halal). The halal foods we consume should not knowingly harm us in any way or cause us to become intoxicated.

Here are some guidelines to help you determine whether the food you eat is Halal (allowed) or Haram (forbidden).

What is Halal Meat?

When it comes to meat Muslims can consume, there are some additional regulations to qualify it as halal meat.

  • First, the animal must be “slaughtered” in accordance to Islamic tradition.
  • Second, the meat isn’t considered to be halal if the animal died of natural causes, strangled, drowned or slaughtered in any other name besides “Allah”.
  • Third, eating pig or Pork is not allowed and clearly stated as Haram in the Quran.

Which plants are halal to eat?

As far as which plants are halal to eat, the General Rule above applies. The plants we consume should not knowingly cause harm to us or cause us to become intoxicated.

An obvious example of plants Muslims should avoid consuming would be Marijuana or tobacco.

Sometimes a doctor can restrict patients from eating certain halal foods. For example, a doctor might forbid his patient from consuming Grapefruit if they are taking blood thinners.

What is halal to drink?

It’s Halal for Muslims to consume all types of drinks as long it doesn’t cause any direct harm to the body or cause intoxication. Any drink that contains wine, alcohol or liquor is not considered to be halal, even in the smallest amounts.

Muslims are the most sober “Dry” culture in the world. Any, and all forms of alcohol is forbidden “Haram” to consume, handle, serve or even produce.

When buying products, we normally check the list of ingredients to make sure it doesn’t contain anything Not Halal. Many non-halal ingredients are easy to spot, while others are disguised in complicated sounding terms.

So how can you tell what is Halal and what isn’t?